[COMM-ORG] PTP Online Presentation: Sabrina Smith from SCOPE on Strategic Values Based Communications

Discussion list for COMM-ORG colist at comm-org.wisc.edu
Tue Feb 3 09:03:04 CST 2009


From:     Alice Aguilar, Progressive Technology Project 
<Alice_Aguilar_Progressive_Techno at mail.vresp.com>

In September of 2008, SCOPE initiated a regional experiment in Los
Angeles to develop new values based organizing and communication
strategies able to
move swing constituencies.

Join us on Thursday February 12, 2009 to hear Sabrina Smith, Strategic
Communications Director at SCOPE share their learnings:

Pacific 10:00am - 11:00am

Mountain 11:00am - 12:00pm

Central 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Eastern 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Cost: $20

Register now
[http://cts.vresp.com/c/?ProgressiveTechnolog/3d5676e8ba/0c1bbdd392/70e7a28=
10b/utm_campaign=3DPTP%20Online%20Presentation%3A%20Sabrina%20Smith%20from%=
20SCOPE%20on%20Strategic%20Values%20Based%20Communications&utm_medium=3DEma=
il&utm_source=3DVerticalResponse&utm_term=3DText%20Version%20-%20Link%201]


Social Values Organizing offers an innovative approach to bottom up
organizing, combining the best of traditional organizing, like face to
face contacts and grassroots leadership development, with a new method
to develop framing, messaging and even identify the policy issues and
campaign activities we ask people to support and get involved in.

A Social Values Organizing approach offers a different set of
assumptions:

The things that really matter to people are their relationships,
jobs and
communities (usually in that order).  They rarely think about "the
issues."

People think about the world, themselves, and their interests in
radically different ways, which is commonly called "mixed
consciousness" or "multiple rationalities" in social values
terminology.

People tend to think about the world through the use of stories,
metaphors, and images - not logic, argument and facts.

It is almost always easier to win people over with proposals that
are
consistent with-rather than contradictory to-their underlying
worldviews,
beliefs and values.

Sabrina Smith, Strategic Communications Director of SCOPE, will
discuss what they have learned from this regional experiment.




______________________________________________________________________
Progressive Technology Project sent this email free of charge using
VerticalResponse for Non-Profits. Non-Profits email free. You email
affordably.

Progressive Technology Project
2801 21st Avenue S, Suite 132E
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55407
US

Read the VerticalResponse marketing policy:
http://www.verticalresponse.com/content/pm_policy.html=






More information about the Colist mailing list